White Tamari


  • Made in Aichi, Japan by Nitto Jozo who also make our beloved Sweet Potato Vinegar
  • A contrast to a traditional dark soy sauce with a sweet, salty and strong umami flavor
  • Ingredients: water, wheat, sea salt, rice wine spirit *not a gluten free tamari
  • Refrigerate after opening
  • 10 fl oz

The name “white tamari” is a bit tongue in cheek: tamari often refers to soy sauce made with little or no wheat, but Nitto Jozo’s recipe is entirely wheat based. Yoichi Ninagawa, Nitto Jozo’s president, makes this tamari himself using only mountain spring water, sea salt, and wheat: add a dash to miso soup or stir into a dressing to accent a dish’s flavor.